Kickin’ It Old School Style

The content on this web page is not to be reused or reprinted without permission of the writer.

The following poem was intended to be a long exercise in sexual innuendo, with at least 5 more stanzas, but for some reason I got somewhere on the third line of the 3rd stanza and stalled. Maybe my visions of grandeur led me to set it aside and not submit it to Haggard & Halloo. At the moment I feel out of touch with the universe as well as my muse (which can be the same thing sometimes), so I have found difficulty sitting down to wax poetic, let alone sitting down to finish a short story. So I dug up this poem from the archives of my hard drive and decided to post it here. I submitted it to Haggard & Halloo last night after failing to finish part two of O.C.D. Tree Killer, but if I were to bet $5 it wouldn’t be posted after all the drivel I’ve been submitting the past couple of months, I’d probably be $5 poorer. Anyway, I won’t waste any more blog readers time with this expository drivel. Read on…

an explosion at battery park, 4th of july 2007

there’s an explosion in her mouth-
french vanilla and a pinch of salt after
watching the fireworks from a rooftop
overlooking battery park tonight
before she wakes up to Channel 8.

what an odd dream-
she’s never seen battery park before
or had fireworks explode in her mouth, but
relishing the thought of it makes her
queer in the pit of her tummy.

One thought on “Kickin’ It Old School Style

Leave a Reply

